Media Item #3: The Friend Zone

I have always enjoyed listening to people talk, have conversations and share personal stories. There is something endlessly fascinating yet peaceful about hearing different people discuss their personal experiences. Truthfully, I believe that people’s stories serve as a type of escape for me in the same way that fiction novels and television shows can. I love getting caught up in people’s stories and getting lost in the experiences that folks audibly describe.

Despite a love I had for listening to people share stories and have in-depth discussions, I never necessarily thought to seek out any forms of storytelling media. I also never put too much thought into finding discussions regarding topics that deeply intrigued me (with the exception of professional wrestling). It was mostly a case of not knowing where to look because I didn’t know what I was looking for.

During my senior year of high school I had discovered a professional wrestling podcast called Art of Wrestling by Colt Cabana. The concept of a podcast was perfect for me because I could listen to people have discussions and tell stories in what seemed like a meaningful way. I experimented with a few podcasts as I entered college. However, I never found a show or series that truly stuck with me.

Fast forward to the early part of second semester during junior year of college. I was spending my Friday night getting incredibly lit (and by lit I 100% mean folding laundry and putting it away). I wanted some sort of background noise while I went through my clothes, but I didn’t want to listen to music. So I went on to Apple Podcasts and began looking up shows that discussed mental health. I figured it would be cool hearing other people having in-depth discussions about a serious topic like mental health. In looking for a podcast I ended up finding a weekly series called The Friend Zone.

Welcome to the Friend Zone

The Friend Zone is a weekly podcast that discusses mental health, mental wellness and pop culture (most typically black pop culture). This show is hosted by Francheska Medina (Fran), Dustin Ross and Assante. The three hosts launched this podcast in August of 2015 and they have consistently put out new episodes for over five years (new episodes are released every Wednesday). Fran, Dustin and Assante have also toured the country in recent years to host live versions of their show. 

A typical episode of the Friend Zone begins with the three hosts asking each other how they are doing. Fran, Dustin and Assante will then take turns reading comments that people shared on social media regarding the previous week’s episode. Then the hosts dive into the main topic for the current week’s episode. Following that discussion, Fran will share a wellness tip for the week. Assante then leads a discussion about the music that each host has been listening to as of late. Dustin will then take over and check in with his co hosts regarding the television shows each person is watching before the episode is wrapped up. 

In recent years, Fran, Assante and Dustin have featured other segments on their show. Examples include giving advice to fans who would write in with a problem or question as well as reading parts of novels. They have also featured different guests on their show such as their friends and industry colleagues. During the last couple of months The Friend Zone has focused on other topics such as technology and pop culture. However, the overall theme of mental wellness is still present in every episode.

Personal bias

I will always have a soft spot in my heart for The Friend Zone for two reasons. Firstly, it’s the first podcast that I truly listened to consistently and became a fan of. Secondly, it’s the first mental health podcast that I discovered and stuck with. For those reasons alone I will always love listening to Fran, Assante and Dustin every Wednesday, even if those three talk about non mental health issues. 

When The Friend Zone does focus on mental health, I particularly appreciate the way that Fran, Assante and Dustin discuss their viewpoints. None of the hosts are mental health professionals or experts. Rather, they have had their own experiences and struggles with mental health. Because none of the hosts are mental health professionals, they discuss mental health in a way that is serious yet also lighthearted and conversational. All three hosts will crack jokes and have a laugh regarding serious topics. However, Assante, Dustin and Fran all know when to take a topic seriously, and each person will take time during an episode to address issues in a meaningful way. The way that The Friend Zone balances seriousness with comic relief is a big reason why I love this show so much.

Additionally, I am not as familiar with black culture as I should be. As a white man I feel like there is so much for me to learn about people of color and their preferred forms of media. When I listen to The Friend Zone, I feel like I get the extra benefit of learning about diverse artists and shows that feature people of color. Assante, Fran and Dustin have also made sure to consistently highlight a black owned businesses, giving an extra spotlight to black entrepreneurs and business owners. There is so much more for me to learn, and I know I can’t rely on one podcast to learn everything about diversity in pop culture. However, I appreciate what I can learn about diversity in the entertainment world from this show.

Overall recommendation

If you are looking for a new mental health podcast to listen to, or maybe you want to give a mental health podcast a try, I would strongly recommend that you listen to The Friend Zone. Personal biases aside, I objectively believe that Fran, Dustin and Assante do a great job of talking about unique and serious topics relating to mental health. They crack a ton of jokes, but they also have thought provoking conversations regarding mental wellness.

The two episodes that I would recommend are “The Toxic Culture of Positivity” and “Maybe It’s You.” Both episodes are relatively old. But I think both episodes give a great glimpse into the format of the show, and the different ways the hosts discuss mental health. 

If The Friend Zone is not exactly your jam, that is totally fair. I would still encourage you to seek out a podcast that discusses mental health. Maybe a specific podcast where the hosts cover topics that strongly resonate with you and your experiences. Hearing other people discuss the same struggles that you have can be a great reminder that you are not alone. Listening to a podcast may also be informational. You may learn different coping mechanisms or treatments that work for you. I definitely think that listening to at least one mental health podcast may have numerous benefits if you are willing to give it a try.

One last shameless plug for this week. I am a straight up sloot for mental health podcasts. So if you folks have any recommendations please feel free to let me know in the comments. Hope everyone is having a good week! 🙂

Leave a comment